Consular Affairs


Exemption of Temporary Visitor Visa Fee for ASEAN University Students

In order to promote youth exchanges between Japan and ASEAN member countries - Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar, and Cambodia - the Japanese Government has decided to exempt ASEAN university students (*1) from paying visa fees when they apply for temporary visitor visas(*2).


By this measure, we expect to enhance good youth exchanges between Japan and ASEAN member countries.


*1. Limited to undergraduate students, who enroll for four-year university or institute courses located in an ASEAN member country. Students of post-graduate schools, two-year colleges, and vocational schools are excluded. Applicants must be nationals of an ASEAN member country.

*2. For sightseeing, visiting relatives, etc., limited to 90 days.